Read Our Reviews

Guest feedback is an important way for us to stay in touch with our guests and their experience at Aspen Square Hotel. If you would like to write a review about us, there are several ways for you to do so. You can click here to send a review directly to our website, or review us on Trip Advisor or Google+. Your input is important to us as we strive to provide excellent customer service and a memorable stay at Aspen Square Hotel. Thank you to all of you who take the time to share your thoughts with us!

 

Comments from Recent Online Reviews

November 2013:  “Great location and extremely well-planned, quality rooms”
The hotel is centrally located in Downtown Aspen five minutes or less from the Gondola, Paradise Bakery, Popycock's, Red Onion, etc. Rooms are of excellent quality with all amenities. Above all, the rooms have more storage available for the temporary guests' clothing and equipment than any unit I've ever been in--skis, clothes, whatever; the two-bedroom, two-bath apartment the four of us had could've fitted in the "stuff" for two more people with ease. Parking is free, close, and some covered is available at least in off season.

We were in off-season but the Desk opened the well-designed and landscaped hot tubs (2) and pool promptly on request. Off-season, prices are very reasonable considering the quality and attributes. Pricey in-season but a great place to stay if you can pay the freight.

Oh, and bring you own wine opener--the furnished one is terrible.


October 2013: “What a great place”
We have stayed here several times, and it is one of our favorite places to stay in Aspen. The location is terrific, the rooms nice and roomy, and the staff accommodating. One word of caution. We were there in September, had an early flight out of Denver, and almost missed it because the front desk did not open until 7:00 and there was no one to get our car out of valet parking. A minor problem, but be forewarned and make the necessary arrangements.


October 2013: “Perfect family getaway”
My husband has a work event in Aspen every October, and sometimes our family (two boys ages 4 and 8) gets to tag along. We stayed this weekend, which was our 3rd time at the Aspen Square hotel. We get a different condo each time and have never been disappointed! On this trip, our place had a great view of the mountain and gondola! I love the patios off of the living and master bedroom area. It was too cool this weekend to spend long out there, but perfect for a breath of sweet mountain air. The condo had recently been renovated, with new carpet and a "mountain/industrial" decor.

A special touch was the his/her bathrobes in the master closet--perfect for trips to/from the outdoor hot tub. In the past we enjoyed a package of local chocolates, but now that Aspen has gone to a "no plastic bag" policy in their stores, the hotel provides a reusable shopping bag as a check in gift.

The location couldn't be better (66 steps to the gondola, which was free this past weekend), and parking is ample. If you're looking for an affordable, convenient family getaway, there is no better place to stay in Aspen!


July 28, 2013: “World's Friendliest Hotel General Manager”
Warren Klug is a local Aspen tourism celebrity. Warren is tall, kind, mild-mannered, totally genuine and keeps his office close to front desk so he can pop in and out to greet his guests. Warren gets was great guest service is. I stayed at this condominium style hotel for three (3) nights - awesome. An instant friendly & 'bearded' smile from John who checked me in has been working at the hotel for over 6 years. During my stay I watched a lot of very happy guests intermingle and enjoy this hotel's swimming pool. Their downtown location is perfect as the mountain is right behind them and downtown Aspen restaurants and retail are right in front of them. They have a ton of repeat guests. I met some who have been returning for over 40 years! I liked the rooms because for me they were bigger than normal and were fully equipped with kitchen and a living area. Felt more like a fresh and recently renovated apartment home-away-from-home to me. For a down home hotel experience right in the middle of the fun and action where the staff care use this place - awesome!


September 3, 2013: “A little slice of heaven”
We truly love staying at Aspen Square Condo. It is located in the center of town and Warren and his staff are amazing. There is plenty of hiking and fantastic restaurants located right near the condos.


September 3, 2013: “Best location, amazing staff”
Stayed there in January, Amazing location, lovely staff. Very nice pool and spas. The rooms are cleaned daily and are so nice to come back to after skiing. There are even humidifiers in every room. Every day there is a hot cider waiting for you in the lobby.


September 3, 2013: “Absolutely wonderful”
We loved our stay at Aspen Square! The condo was clean, really clean, the staff friendly and very helpful and the location could not be beat. We did have one problem with the cleaning staff, but the manager sent us a beautiful bottle of champagne to compensate which was awesome! Next time we're in Aspen we will stay at the Square! Can't wait to go again!


September 24, 2013: “Best condo in Aspen”
We called at the last minute because Estes Park was flooded out. Reservations clerk alerted us to a special rate, very reasonable. Well equipped studio condo with full kitchen. In the heart of Aspen but relatively quiet. Hotel provides free parking and if the indoor lot fills, the desk clerk will find a spot on the street and take your car there until a spot opens up. Life saver in crowded Aspen.


October 2, 2013: “Convenient, Caring, and Well-appointed”
Centrally located in downtown Aspen, within walking distance of most things, with free parking in the courtyard. Staff was thoughtful and responsive. Room was great -- spacious, had everything, including a balcony and fireplace (and even games, if you are so-inclined). And, a small box of candy to top things off.


October 3, 2013: “Perfect spot in Aspen”
Front desk staff very professional. Our room was on the second floor in a back corner and was comfortable and very nicely appointed for the two of us. We even had a view of the mountain behind us. Grocery, liquor, and bike rental shops right across the street. Great to be able to walk to all restaurants. Cleaning staff was great every day of the 4 days we were there. Only drawback was we were next to the bus line. At first it seemed a bit intrusive, but very shortly thereafter it seemed much less so. We loved our stay.


"We were fortunate to get a unit that had JUST been redecorated and it was lovely. The accommodations were a bit small but excellent, staff terrific, location the best. Nice pool and hot tub. Pricey but worth it. We will definitely go back there."


"My wife and I spent our 10 year anniversary at the Aspen Square. The hotel knew it was our anniversary and went out of their way to make sure the weekend was special.

This hotel is in a great location, right in the middle of everything. Once we parked our car on Friday, no reason to drive until we left. Our room was wonderful, with a very comfortable king bed, nice living area. While we did eat all of our meals out, the kitchen was fully stocked and ready to cook.

The pool is gorgeous and clean. The two hot tubs were, well, nice and hot & relaxing. Staff is nice, friendly, and accommodating. This was our very first trip to Aspen, and this hotel did not disappoint. Thanks Aspen Square!!!"


"One of the best places to stay in Aspen. it is right there in the middle of town. Just a block away from the slopes and a couple of blocks from down town. Rooms have kitchens so we cooked a couple of nights for dinner and were able to do our own breakfasts. In the afternoon the cleaning service came in and cleaned the dishes and cleaned up the room very nicely. They also have a gas grill out by the pool deck area where you can grill out if you like.

Front desk was always friendly and helpful. Concierge was right there willing to set up reservations for anything from horseback riding, White water rafting, to dinner reservations. This was a summer trip but I know during winter it is just perfect place to ski down walk really just a block over and be in the hotel heading to your room. then back down to the heated pool or hot tubs. It is an older building, Built in the 60's but kept up to date to be sure. The rooms are privately owned condos so each one is in a little different style. Some have been updated more recently that others but all that we used (4 different studio condos) were nice in their own way and had no problems with.

Anyone that wants to go see the heart of Aspen needs to come out and stay here."


"I have stayed at Aspen Square many times and each time is as good as the last. The studios and suites are excellent and have all the extras you need. Each room has an open fire which is easy to get going.I stay in studios and all have balconies and views of the mountains or the street. Aspen Square is centrally located next to the Gondolas and a short walk to the Little Nell where 5pm drinks are mandatory.

The rooms come with kitchens and are combined sitting and bedroom if you take a studio. It is a short walk to the supermarket as well. The beds are comfortable and the rooms are cleaned daily. It is also a very quiet place to stay.

Aspen is a great town and if you don't ski there are plenty of places to eat and shop. Aspen has plenty of luxury boutiques and also quirky shops if you are prepared to explore. Aspen Square is a great place for the skier and non-skier."


"We changed our plan the last minute and decided to spend a day in Aspen. As it was the off season, we were able to book a room the day before through Expedia at a very good rate. We got room 401, a studio with a king bed. While I would not say it is newly renovated, it is not very outdated either. The room faces East Cooper Ave but we did not hear much noise, most likely because it was the off season and the area was not crowded at all. Pros: very friendly staff, the room provides nice touches here and there (like nice toiletries, sweets, tea and coffee, extra towels if needed etc), and a very comfortable bed. Most importantly the location is fantastic! We walked everywhere, and there is a supermarket across the street if you feel like cooking instead of eating out. Cons: there is only one elevator and it takes forever! The carpeting inside the elevator as well as on the 4th floor (and I assume the same for the rest of the building) needs to be replaced. The underground parking spaces are tight so it is not easy to get in and out. Overall though, we are very satisfied with our stay despite some drawbacks."


"Stayed here with my girl at end of Feb. I was familiar with this hotel primarily because of its location but what also sold me was that it had a fireplace. Service was good, housekeeping excellent and the rooms were nice. I'd be happy to stay here again."


"The hotel is luxuriously appointed with large studio apartments being the norm. Styles of rooms vary from "western" theme to ultra modern minimalist white. All studios have well appointed kitchens and comfortable lounge area. central location affords access to everything that Aspen has to offer. exquisite shops,interesting malls and the night time fairy lights in all the trees in town.Concierge available all day to organise outings,dining,events, whatever your requirement. Staff are ever willing , helpful and agreeable. We have been coming here for many years and each year it seems to be better."


"I was impressed with Aspen Square from the time we arrived. Check in was prompt & painless. It was all the little extras that made our stay memorable.A box of hand made chocolates was a nice welcome gift. The Monday night meet & greet by management with complimentary nibbles & beverages was a nice way to meet other guests. The hot apple cider & cookies in the lobby after a hard day skiing was also most welcome. The location was central & within walking distance of bars & restaurants. Views from our room were awesome. Looking up aspen mountain and across the gondolas. All in all everything was faultless. If I was being picky, the only thing I would fault was the slow lift."


"I'd stayed at Aspen Square several times in the late 1980's and returned this year with my husband. We had a studio with king bed, which had been nicely upgraded. The location is fantastic if you like to wander around downtown, 1 block to grocery store, nice courtyard with pool. I love the atmosphere of Aspen in the summer - music festival, lots of families. Our condo faced Cooper Street but we were not bothered by noise. Our only "complaint" if the lack of outlets, so I've started packing a power strip or extension cord for charging cell phones, laptops, iPads, etc."


"Great location, great service. Recommended."


"If you are going to be in Aspen you should be in the Aspen Square. One of the best run outfits in Aspen period."


"This was our first time at Aspen Square but we will be back! Staff is exceptionally helpful and welcoming. Our room was cozy, well decorated and maintained and had all the amenities. Perfect view of town. The location is right in the center of town, with easy access to bus and gondola as well as restaurants and shopping."


"I've just returned to the UK after staying, for the second time in two years, at this excellent, centrally located hotel."


"I couldn't have been greeted more warmly. The House Manager made a point of interrupting what she was doing to give me a big "Welcome Back" hug; the General Manager popped out for a chat and to say how glad he was to have me back, and the staff at the front desk were all smiles and grins. There was a nice, informal fruit and cheese reception on the Friday evening. Concierge service efficient and very friendly."


"Over the past 20 years we have stayed at several properties in Aspen. In our opinion, Aspen Square is at the top of the list. Aspen square is centrally located, the quality of the rooms and the space available in the rooms is the best value for the money. They have studios, one bedroom and larger units. The rooms are immaculate, very comfortable and the service is excellent. Aspen Square has concierge service available, exercise facilities, pool and hot tub. The only negative might be the availability of parking, however, the front desk will help solve the problem if there are no spaces available. As far as we are concerned Aspen Square should be number one place on the Travel Advisor site for places to stay in Aspen."


"We have been visiting Aspen every year for the past 10 years. We love this place!"


"Location is an A+++ - City Market is across the street, as well as the Gondola ride to Aspen Mountain. The rooms are all very nice with a fireplace, balcony and full kitchens. We have stayed in the various types: studios, 1 br & 2 br, which were all extremely nice!"


"I chose this hotel from other trip advisor reviews.. and they sure are right on with this one. We were so happy with this location, room and amazing view from our balcony. We stayed in room 310, which was a studio with a fireplace. Warren the manager, is very hands on and makes guest feel right at home. they have a nice reception area, where we sat and people watched by the fire enjoying our hot apple cider.. We will definitely be back next year!!!"


"This was our 2nd stay (from Aus). Gretchen and Laura on the help desk are nothing short of fantastic. These women are up there in the help department!!! Fantastic location, short walk to everything, supermarket about 1 minute. The hotel has heated spas and pools so if you have children they just love it after a day on the slopes a great way to unwind."


"If I had one complaint (sorry) it would be that the rooms are a little on the dark side in terms of lighting as they use the low voltage bulbs. Apart from that I would recommend the hotel. Very traditional decor and homey. Very comfortable beds (and big). Hope to be going back again next year."


"Have all the facilities that you need when traveling as a family. Great kitchen, fully equipped, laundry room on most floors and chopped wood for the fireplace."


"Solid hotel/condo in downtown Aspen, one block from Ajax gondola, Little Nell, super ski shops, Poppycocks, City Market, Il Mulino, and more. Good parking. Good pool and spa. Nice front desk. Nice staff and maid service. Everything we needed for Spring Break Aspen."


"Aspen Square has a great location. Its entrance it's at the main commercial street. Through its corner exits you can get across the street to town largest supermarket, the gondola and ski rentals shop.It is at two block distance of shuttle plaza transfers to all skiing resorts."


"We spent 2 weeks in condo 110 - it is a fabulous 3 bed, 3 bathroom apartment with lots of space for everyone. It has two living areas which we found great as we took the children. It has an excellent location across from the gondola. Great pool and jacuzzi on premises after a long Day skiing. I have stayed at North of Nell, Durant, Limelight and Clarendon over the years but feel Aspen Square is the best due to it's location and facilities. Will be back again next year!"


"Staff is extremely accommodating. The rooms are clean and spacious. Nice to have your own kitchen. The pool is large and clean. Staff will leave the pool open later than normal if you ask. Good parking in downtown Aspen. Close to public transportation. Close to the mountains and shops. Nice king size beds."


"The Aspen Square is the perfect location to stay in Aspen. We visited the property about 15 years ago and just returned this month. While much of the facility remains the same, the condo we occupied was updated and looked newer than its age. For an Aspen location, the rooms are spacious. We booked at the last minute and received a slight discount on top of the lowest advertised price. The gentlemen at the reservations line was so polite and helpful, definitely went above and beyond. The gondola is literally a 1 minute walk from the front door of the hotel, you cannot find a more centrally located property in this price range."


"We spent 6 days at Aspen Square this trip, and once again it was a wonderful experience. Our room was fantastic, with amazing views to the north and west. Having laundry machines on every floor is another huge plus. But the views and great room aside, what really makes Aspen Square so fantastic is its location, and the people that work there. You are close to everything! The gondola, the bus station, 'downtown', everything! And the staff are always friendly and want to make your stay just perfect. Without any hesitation I will be staying at Aspen Square again in the future."


"The staff is super friendly.The guys at the front desk rock! The courtyard pool area has been re-done and its very nice.The inside of the hotel is a little old but its still charming in its own way. I would stay again."


"This was our first trip to Aspen, and Aspen Square proved the perfect place for us to stay. It was right in the middle of town, and only about a 3-minute walk to the gondola on Aspen Mountain (which I most highly recommend taking to the top for some spectacular hiking), making it nice not to have to take the car everywhere. The people at the hotel could not have been friendlier. And the accommodations were wonderful. The bedroom was huge, and the living space and kitchen were just perfect. We cooked in a few nights, and the condo was very well-equipped. The swimming pool was gorgeous, though we didn't get a chance to use it. Our room, and the hotel in general, was very quiet! Though you could hear the buses outside, they stopped fairly early and weren't terribly bothersome (and I'm very sensitive to noise). Thank you for making our first trip to Aspen so special!"


"Just returned from a short but sweet trip to Aspen. We loved the 2 bedroom apartment style hotel with many amenities in our room as well as a waterfall pool and two hot tubs. Beautiful grounds and great employees. Location was tremendous and from our balcony we could see the amazing mountain (gondola) and we were right in the village. Clean, very comfortable and room 119 was perfect for our family. Great kitchen and bath products were fantastic (including scrunchy) even make-up remover! Bag for grocery shopping- Aspen does not provide plastic bags at grocery store so Aspen Square has a reusable one. The store is on the same block. Totally loved our stay but hey hiking etc how bad can it be?!"


"There's no restaurant, but Aspen Square is surrounded by cafes and other places to eat; there's a supermarket across the street, and the Butcher Block, also across the street, does excellent soup. Will certainly be coming back!"

back to top